RSS

“Internships give you valuable insight into the corporate work culture before you actually start your career.”

11 Sep

                                                                                                                                                              Geethu Tressa Mathew
PGDM Batch 23

GeethuI feel like my summer internship with Whitefield Motors Pvt. Ltd. is going to be the beginning of a whole new chapter for me. I am anxious, but I also feel comfortable in my space. I will be working as an Intern in the finance department, which will give me a huge opportunity to learn about the day-to-day functions of a finance department. One of my key responsibilities will be to study the inventory management, and I will also gain exposure to the company’s sales division.

Even though I will be working primarily in the Finance department, I will also gain an understanding of different streams, which is something I am excited about. I have always wanted to be a well-rounded professional and I believe I can do that through the experience I will gain during this internship. It’s an important learning experience for all management students because it teaches teamwork and leadership skills.

I want to make an impression at my workplace and I think I can do that by being systematic and staying updated with the latest trends. My experience completing assignments in a timely manner at SCMS Cochin School of Business should help me in this regard. I have also learned quantitative skills, which are now going to be put to the test. In addition to learning about how management concepts are put into practice, I want to learn about how employees interact in the work place. The latter, I feel, is an important part of becoming an industry professional, and one that students gain important exposure to through the internship.

One of the important aspects of learning at SCMS Cochin has always been communication and interpersonal skills. There are a lot of activities held at the institute throughout the year, which help us fight our stage fright. I am going to build on that experience and ensure that I am able to communicate my ideas with my colleagues in the best possible manner. The group activities we go through at our institute also teach us a lot about teamwork, which is another aspect of working in an organization. These are challenges that I am ready for, thanks to my institute.

Yes it’s true: SCMS Cochin has taken special efforts to make sure all of us are ready to take this first step into the corporate world. Be it through Business Research Methods (BRM) that give us useful insight or Written Analysis and Communication (WAC), the institute has enabled us to present a clear account of ourselves during our internships. I see it as a stepping stone towards being an industry-ready professional and I will put my best foot forward in order to capitalize on this opportunity.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 11, 2015 in Internship

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
