RSS

“Summer internships are an important step towards your future career and impact your placement salary.”

09 Jul

Ashmi Chackochan
PGDM Batch – 23

AshmiI completed my bachelor’s degree in Fashion Technology but felt that I needed to learn more about the business and marketing strategies in the current scenario. That’s the reason I came to SCMS Cochin School of Business, and I feel that my internship will allow me to merge my interests into one career path. After all, I have been given an opportunity to do my SIP with Hidesign.

Hidesign is a well-known brand and that gives me a lot of scope to learn. Some of my responsibilities during the internship will include ensuring smooth functioning of the store and presenting different promotions to customers in a favourable manner. From interacting with customers to handling customer service responsibilities, I will have a lot to work on.

I will do my best by organizing my day in advance and, of course, making sure I get to work on time. I will also try and manage the workforce efficiently while reaching out to employees and creating a bond with them. My effort will be to build an effective dialogue with the employees at the store and to create a motivated climate for everyone to work in.

Timeliness and good communication skills are two skills I have learned during my time at SCMS Cochin. In fact, it has been a huge learning experience all through the year and we have been given a platform to build our skills. Both theory and case-based learning at our B School has been helpful in our preparation for the internship.

The good thing about getting an education at SCMS Cochin is that it goes way beyond the classroom. We have gained a tremendous amount of knowledge about the world around us, as well as the changing market trends. I intend to use this new knowledge to my advantage during the internship and build on my skills further. I want to get an insight into my areas of interest, experience work culture and build a network with professionals.

Building connections with industry experts and experienced professionals is one of the biggest advantages of internships for management students. What’s more, it can also tell you a lot about where your interests lie and the areas of management that you are passionate about. Thus, you can choose the right career path for yourself and the internship can have a huge impact on your graduate salary as well.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 9, 2015 in Internship

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
