RSS

Kaushal Pathak, SCMS Cochin, 2004-06, Batch – “Tenets of discipline, integrity and endurance taught by SCMS-COCHIN are the most valuable assets to me”

25 Jul

Kaushal Pathak, an SCMS-COCHIN alumnus from the 2004-06 batch, is a man who believes in accepting ground realities and making the most of them. After graduating in Chemistry, Kaushal wanted his career in his own science related field i.e pharma or biotech  but realities dictated that he goes after the best option, and he chose SCMS-COCHIN for his PGDBM.

“I would advise my juniors from SCMS-COCHIN to never make the mistake of taking decisions out of aggression, excitement or high ambition. Be wise, consistent and calm; these qualities will take you far in life.”

His life is pretty much a story along these very lines. After a PGDM in Marketing and Advertising from SCMS-COCHIN, he was placed with IDBI Bank as an Assistant Manager in Mumbai.

“Frankly speaking, Banking was not my first choice, but it was the best job offered to me and I took it. But once I took it up, I realised the tremendous growth potential. In the last decade or so, Banking has taken rapid strides. Banks have completely transformed themselves.”

After a little over a year, Kaushal accepted the role of Deputy Manager – Retail Liabilities, with HDFC Bank. He patiently cemented his place in HDFC Bank over a period of 3 years, and learnt all the tricks of retail liability before shifting gears. In September 2010, Kaushal was offered the coveted designation of Manager – BSM at Axis Bank. The exciting part was that he would have to move out of Mumbai.

“The  offer was in for  Gurgaon, the city of opportunities. Today, as Manager, I’m responsible for  budget achievment of all the retail products in terms of number and value as well for my branch with the given team size. I drive business acquisition through team, deepening of retail liabilities products.  As the Manager, I not only handle the whole branch team, but am responsible for people and process management, training, performance and planning execution along with lobby management. Customer relationship management with key corporate clients, is all the skill that is helping me smoothly in my function learned  academically i.e SCMS and supervision from the management of the organisation.”

SCMS-COCHIN, to Kaushal, stands for ‘strong academic environment and discipline.’

“When I went to SCMS-COCHIN I had to move out of my comfort zone – my home, my state, my language, my people and my kind of food – and that was the major learning. The move helped me learn to accomodate. Today, I have many close friends across regions and languages.”

He feels that the tenets of discipline, integrity and endurance taught to him by SCMS-COCHIN are the most valuable assets with him. Even today, he misses his friends,  teachers and the fantastic Infrastructure of SCMS-COCHIN, as well as the amazing  natural ambience of Kerala; but what he misses the most is the ‘last-minute rush for everything!’ as a student  at SCMS-COCHIN.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in Alumni

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Kaushal Pathak, SCMS Cochin, 2004-06, Batch – “Tenets of discipline, integrity and endurance taught by SCMS-COCHIN are the most valuable assets to me”

  1. Sunu Nair (@sunu_sn)

    August 3, 2012 at 5:57 pm

    Good going Kaushal! All the very best for great years ahead

     

Leave a Reply

 
